INEC Declares PDP’s Okowa As Winner Of Delta Governorship Polls


Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of the Peoples Democratic Party has been declared the winner of the 2019 governorship election in Delta by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Okowa polled a total number of 925,274 votes to defeat the first runner up, Chief Great Ogboru of the All Progressive Congress who polled a total of 215,938 votes.

The results were declared on Monday in Asaba by the State Returning Officer of INEC, Prof. Seth Accra-Jaja, Vice Chancellor, Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa.

Click here

Jaja said, “I hereby certify that I was the State Returning Officer for March Governorship election.

“The election was keenly contested by different candidates and Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa of the PDP polled a total number of 925,274 votes to defeat his first runner up, Chief Great Ogboru of the All Progressive Congress who polled a total of 215,938 votes.’’

He revealed that the total number of registered voters in the state was 2,831,205, adding that the total number of accredited voters was 1,188,784.

According to him, the total number of rejected votes was 24,147 and the total number of votes cast was 1,178,335, while the total number of valid votes was 1,154,188.

Okowa won in 23 out of the 25 local government areas of the state to be declared winner for a second term in office.

Ones Click